Thursday, April 1, 2010

About SYCB

SYCB is an umbrella organization consisting of 15 students and youth organizations of various ethnic backgrounds. The SYCB is based on the Thai-Burma border and on the Burma-India border. It was founded on January 8th 1996 in New Delhi, India. The SYCB aims to promote and increase the growth in understanding and cooperation among various ethnic nationalities of Burma, and among its member organizations. It strives towards the achievement of democracy, the restoration of human rights and the establishment of a federal union of Burma. The Member Organizations of SYCB are:

1. All Arakan Students’ and Youths’ Congress (AASYC)
2. All Burma Students’ Democratic Front (ABSDF)
3. All Kachin Students and Youth Union (AKSYU)
4. Arakan League for Democracy - Youth Wing (Exile) (ALD-Youth Wing - Exile)
5. Democratic Party for a New Society - Youth (DPNS-Youth)
6. Karen Youth Organization (KYO)
7. Kayan New Generation Youth (KNGY)
8. Kuki Students Democratic Front (KSDF)
9. Mon Youth Progressive Organization (MYPO)
10. National League for Democracy-Liberated Area, Youth (NLD-LA, Youth)
11. Naga National League for Democracy – Youth (NNLD-Youth)
12. Pa-O Youth Organization (PYO)
13. Tavoyan Youth Organization (TYO)
14. Zomi Students and Youth Organization (ZSYO)
15. Ta'ang Students & Youth Organization (TSYO)

SYCB Aims & Objectives
• To strengthen the capacity of students and youth organizations of Burma
• To increase understanding and co-operation among the organizations in their fight against the military regime in Burma.
• To build mutual trust among various nationalities of youth for the foundation of the future federal union of Burma

No comments:

Post a Comment